Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 30th, 2007

Sorry–just had to headline it that way. Saw the new Beowulf movie, in 3D no less. Pretty awesome–and frickin’ hysterical, too. 🙂 Beowulf’s proclivity to shout his own name many a time throughout was one thing that had me giggling. I’m thinking: “Okay, we know your name already–heck it’s the title of your movie, geesh…”

All that shouting kinda reminded me of Gerard Butler as King Leonidas in “300.” Then again, Butler was in a rendition of Beowulf himself. Funny how that all works out. At least here there’s some excuse for some sort of British accent (though not really–the poem was actually written in Old English…).

Just for fun, see:

Mock Middle English Banner

(Note that that is actually more of a Middle English banner)

But part of that (over-the-top shouting, etc.) was in the way the story was written, and that Neil Gaiman and Roger Avary were trying to bring more to the story than just an heroic epic. Right now, I’m mixed in my feelings about how well that worked out, though on the whole, I’d say it was mighty entertaining, with some pretensions of trying to give a murky message about hubris… or something.

Recommended.

Now I’ve got to go work out and beat up on something, for some reason… 🙂

Read Full Post »